NEA Big Read 2021

Circe by Madeline Miller

The 2021 Big Read book is: Circe by Madeline Miller. For fourteen consecutive years, the Museum has been honored to be awarded the NEA Big Read grant. NEA Big Read is a program of the National Endowment for the Arts in partnership with Arts Midwest.

What is the NEA Big Read program?

The NEA Big Read is a community reading program focused on a single book. Massillon Museum and its amazing community partners create innovative and critical programs highlighting the book themes, exposing participants to new genres and ideas. The selected book is offered to the community for free so that many can participate. Since 2008, Massillon Museum has proudly distributed more than 27,000 books to Massillon and its surrounding communities. 

Click here to learn more about this year's book selection.



2021 NEA Big Read Programs

More information will become available as we approach the 2021 NEA Big Read kickoff date of Saturday, March 27, 2021!

Please email Stephanie Toole, Education and Outreach Manager and Big Read Coordinator, at, or call 330-833-4061 x104 with any questions.



Previous Massillon Museum NEA Big Read Selections:


2020: Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast

2019: Burning Bright by Ron Rash

2018: A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. LeGuin

2017: True Grit by Charles Portis

2016: In the Time of Butterflies by Julia Alvarez

2015: Old School by Tobias Wolff

2014: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

2013: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

2012: The Stories of Edgar Allan Poe

2011: The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain

2010: The Shawl by Cynthia Ozick

2009: The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

2008: The Call of the Wild by Jack London

To learn more about the NEA The Big Read, click here.

NEA Big Read is a program of the National Endowment for the Arts in partnership with Arts Midwest.


  • news
  • mailing list
  • volunteering
  • membership
  • calendar
  • shop